(l-R) Ben Stokes, Virat Kohli, Andre Russell, Adam Gilchrist and Shane Watson BCCI

With Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 done and dusted, it is time for scribes to file out various lists. From leading batsmen to bowler or from best strike-rate to economy, everything will be scrutinised to bits. One list that will be keenly read will be of the Most Valued Player (MVP). Each year different benchmarks are set, sometimes even higher and unattainable. The MVP, for that matter, is based on the most number of points in the Most Valued Player Index (MVPI). This MVPI rating is done on three basic factors:

Batting: Runs scored, number of 4s and 6s and strike rate.

Bowling: Wickets taken, runs given and economy rate.

Fielding: Catches and runs saved in the field.

Let us have a look at the current and previous MVP awardees of IPL.


Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiant):

From being the most priced player, Ben Stokes rose to the occasion and stamped himself the title of MVP. Stokes, who was dearly missed by RPS in the final against Mumbai Indians, had accumulated 316 runs at 31.60 before that. Stokes was also instrumental in the side’s impenetrable death-bowling, snapping 12 wickets at 22 while maintaining a miserly economy rate of 7.18.

Stokes’ final over against Royal Challengers Bangalore and his scintillating ton against Gujarat Lions will remain etched in minds of fans for long.


Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore): 356.6 points

IPL 9 was all about one man and one man only, Virat Kohli. Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper was in flawless form churning out runs by the bucketful. Kohli carried his international form into the tournament and ended with 973, tantalisingly close of 1,000. He scored 4 centuries in the process (most by any in an IPL season) along with 7 half-centuries.


Andre Russell (Kolkata Knight Riders): 312 points

Kolkata s knight in shining armour, Andre Russell announced himself on the world stage after setting the IPL 2015 on fire. The Caribbean marvel scored heaps of runs for KKR, including a 21-ball 51 against Kings XI Punjab. Russell ended up with 326 runs at 192.29 whilst picking 14 wickets and 6 catches. Sadly for KKR, Russell ended up getting a ban and could not feature in IPL 10.


Glenn Maxwell (Kings XI Punjab): 286 points

KXIP’s current skipper Maxwell, after being dropped from the Australian side in 2014, staged a mind-blowing welcome in the IPL 7. Maxwell, rebuked by his dropping, scored 552 runs in the tournament that saw him smack 36 sixes at a strike rate of 187.75. His batting form took KXIP into the final as well.


Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals): 386 points

The only player to win the award twice, Watson somewhat resurrected his career in IPL 2013. Watson hogged the limelight again taking the MVP award with his all-round show for RR. With 22 sixes, 59 boundaries, 6 catches and 13 wickets, Watson topped the MVPI eclipsing Chris Gayle by 37 points.


Sunil Narine (Kolkata Knight Riders): An unknown equity till then, Sunil Narine forayed on to world cricket with an astounding show in IPL 5. Narine, tore into opposition on a sow and sluggish pitch, nabbed 24 wickets at 13.50 with an impressive economy rate of 5.47. Out of his 24 wickets, 5 came in one match against KXIP.


Chris Gayle (Royal Challengers Bangalore): 409.5 points

Yet to sparkle with the bat in IPL, Chris Gayle donned new colours of RCB after being unsold in the auction. Stimulated by overlooking, Gayle announced himself with a century against KKR and did not look back. Gayle ended up with 2 centuries along with 608 runs at 67. He shone with the ball as well, taking 8 wickets.


Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians): Yet to shine in the T20 format, Sachin Tendulkar led from the front in IPL 3 for Mumbai Indians. Tendulkar, who played all matches for MI, notched up 618 runs at 47.54 with 5 half-centuries. What is astounding that the little master struck 86 fours and just 3 sixes.


Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers): Australia s hero from the 2007 World Cup final, Adam Gilchrist not only captained his team Deccan Chargers to an IPL title but also displayed his ferocious side. Gilchrist rocketed as many as 29 sixes in his 495 runs at a strike rate of 152.3. Gilchrist s knock of 85 in the semi-final was as good as a whirlwind. As a keeper, Gilchrist took 10 catches and inflicted 8 stumpings.


Shane Watson (Rajasthan Royals): 406.5 points

Still aiming for a place in the Australian s scheme of things, Shane Watson came in the inaugural season with not much expectations. Playing for Rajasthan Royals (RR), Watson formed an imperative cog in the teams success. Showing off his skills with both bat and ball, he accumulated 472 runs with a strike-rate of 151.77, along with 17 wickets at 22.52.