Getty Images
Aaron Finch and Michael Klinger added 79 runs for the 1st wicket Getty Images

Sri Lanka, for the third time in a row, won the toss and put Australia in. Visitors currently lead the three-T20I series, 2-0 and are eyeing a clean-sweep in the third and final T20I at Adelaide. Australian skipper Aaron Finch was lucky to survive in the very first over after being dropped by Milinda Siriwardane. Finch soon started to bring out his array of shots, along with Klinger, as the pair ensured they got off to a flier. Finch brought up the pair’s 50-run stand with a massive six over extra cover.

Australian skipper continued to canter bowlers alike to hit a six en-route his seventh T20I century off 31 balls. Finch (53) departed without adding a single run to his score, giving Seekkuge Prasanna his first wicket. New man Ben Dunk continued Finch’s work hitting boundaries at will. Dunk, kept the run-rate in check hitting a quick-fire 28 off 21 that consisted 2 fours and 2 sixes. Dunk fell to Dasun Shanaka handing a simple catch to Prasanna.

Klinger batted slowly after the fall of Dunk and stroked his maiden T20I half-century. He got to the landmark off a boundary over midwicket in 36 balls. Travis Head came in and thrashed Malinga for 18 runs in his third over. Malinga though had the final laugh, getting Head’s wicket for 30. This brought an end to a 51-run stand between him and Klinger.

Klinger was run out the very next ball to a bullet-like throw from Shanaka for 62. Aston Turner, continued to disappoint making just 2 and becoming Malinga his second wicket. James Faulkner, added just 2 runs before falling prey to Shanaka in the final over.

Moises Henriques (2) and Tim Paine (1) ensured Australia reached 187 runs with the loss of 6 wickets.

Sri Lanka made just the one change to their side, bringing in Dashun Shanaka replacing the banned Niroshan Dickwella, while Australia brought in Adam Zampa in place of Andrew Tye.

Brief score:

Australia 187 for 6 (Aaron Finch 54, Michael Klinger 62 ; Dasun Shanaka 2 for 27) vs Sri Lanka.