Rashid Khan Afghanistan Bangladesh 2018 Mushfiqur Rahim Mahmudullah Mohammad Nabi Mujeeb Ur Rahman Zadran Mohammad Shahzad Dehradun
In the end it all came down to Rashid Khan AFP (file photo)

Rashid Khan rose to the challenge yet again in the third T20 International at Dehradun, allowing Afghanistan to whitewash Bangladesh 3-0. Rashid had to defend 8 off the last over, against well-set Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah. Mushfiqur, in a near-encore of the 2016 World T20 last-over slog against India, holed out to deep square-leg off the first ball. Mahmudullah surprisingly took a single off the second ball, bringing Ariful Haque on strike.

Ariful got a brace and a single, and Mahmudullah ran again, off the fifth ball, leaving Ariful to score four off the last ball. Ariful went for a slog, but Shafiqullah Shafiq leapt up, not only to push the ball back into play, but also to throw it to Mohammad Shahzad. Mahmudullah fell short and was run out.

Bangladesh had a poor start, losing Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, and Shakib Al Hasan with 53 on the board inside the ninth over. But Mushfiqur (46) and Mahmudullah (45) added 84 in 64 balls to take Bangladesh on the brink of victory. Mushfiqur almost sealed the match with 5 consecutive fours off the 19th over, bowled by Karim Janat, but Rashid (4-0-24-1) turned out to be too good for them. He was supported, as usual, by Mujeeb Zadran (4-0-25-1) and Mohammad Nabi (4-0-20-0).

Earlier in the day, Afghanistan raced to 95 for 2 in the 12th over before losing impetus and settling for 145 for 6. Shahzad (26), Usman Ghani (19), Asghar Stanikzai (27), and Najibullah Zadran (15) reached double-figures, but none of them exactly cut loose. The innings was shepherded by Samiullah Shenwari (33*).

Brief scores:

Afghanistan 145 for 6 in 20 overs [Asghar Stanikzai 27(17), Samiullah Shenwari 33*(28); Nazmul Islam 4-0-18-2, Abu Jayed 4-0-27-2] beat Bangladesh 144 for 6 in 20 overs [Mushfiqur Rahim 46(37), Mahmudullah 45(38); Mujeeb Zadran 4-0-25-1, Rashid Khan 4-0-24-1] by 1 run.

Player of the Match: Mushfiqur Rahim.

Player of the Series: Rashid Khan.