Andrew Tye registered his 3rd T20I hat-trick (Image courtesy: Getty)
Andrew Tye registered his 3rd T20I hat-trick (Image courtesy: Getty)

Andrew Tye registered his third T20 hat-trick on Saturday. He now has the joint-most hat-tricks in T20s. Amit Mishra too has three hat-tricks. Tye achieved the feat for defending champions Perth Scorchers against Sydney Sixers at Sydney in the Big Bash League (BBL) 2017-18. This is the third hat-trick in BBL, and Tye has taken 2 in this tournament.

Sixers were 132 for 7 in the 19th over. Sean Abbott was the first to fall after the ball lobbed to point. Steve O Keefe was the next to go after he miscued a slog off slower one. Daniel Sams became his hat-trick victim after being trapped plumb. This is the third hat-trick registered in the Big

Tye, earlier this year, got a hat-trick on his IPL debut. Playing for Gujarat Lions, he achieved the feat against Rising Pune Supergiant. His victims were Ankit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary and Shardul Thakur. Tye became the first player to take 3 hat-tricks in a calendar year in T20 cricket.

List of BBL hat-tricks

Player Team Opp Batsmen Season
Xavier Doherty Hobart Hurricanes Sydney Thunder Simon Keen (c)Ryan Carters (st)Cameron Borgas (lbw) 2012-13
Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers Brisbane Heat Jack Wildermuth (c)Mitchell Swepson (c)Mark Steketee (b) 2016-17
Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers Sydney Sixers Sean Abbott (c)Steve O Keefe (c)Daniel Sams (lbw) 2017-18

Leg-spinner Mishra is the only other bowler to have 3 T20 hat-tricks. Mishra has got all of them in the IPL. He got his first hat-trick for Delhi Daredevils, against Deccan Chargers, in IPL 2008. The next time he was in the Deccan Chargers camp. In 2011, he got his second hat-trick, against Kings XI Punjab. Mishra s third hat-trick came in the 2013 edition, for Sunrisers Hyderabad, against Pune Warriors India.