Kyle Mills to lead New Zealand in Sri Lanka tour

Kyle Mills (above) was appoined as the captain for the tour of Sri Lanka after Ross Taylor and Brendon McCullum were rested for the series © Getty Images

Nov 1, 2013

New Zealand’s veteran seam bowler, Kyle Mills will captain his country for the first time in their upcoming tour to Sri Lanka after Kane Willamson was ruled out with a fractured thumb. Williamson has already gone back home from Bangladesh and is receiving treatment, New Zealand cricket (NZC) stated.

Williamson was expected to lead the New Zealand side after both Brendon McCullum and Ross Taylor were rested to prepare for the series against West Indies as well as India.  

Rob Nicol will replace Kane Willamson. With the all-rounder Andrew Ellis taking the place of injured fast bowler in Ian Butler.

“It’s disappointing that Ian’s back didn’t settle in time for the Sri Lanka tour,” national selection general manager Bruce Edgar was quoted as saying by Times of India.

He continued, “we’ll also bring in Otago’s Neil Broom for the final ODI and the two Twenty20s as additional cover.”

New Zealand will play three One-Day Internationals and two T/20s in Sri Lanka.
New Zealand squad: Kyle Mills (c), Corey Anderson, Neil Broom, Anton Devcich, Grant Elliott, Andrew Ellis, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Rob Nicol, Luke Ronchi, Hamish Rutherford.