Hello and welcome to CricketCountry’s live coverage of Day 1 of the Group B game of the 2015-16 Ranji Trophy between Baroda and Madhya Pradesh, live from Vadodara. Baroda opened their Ranji account with a bonus-point win in Vadodara, as the hosts toppled Railways by an innings and 113 runs inside three days in the last match Baroda are currently on 9 points from 4 matches.Madhya Pradesh in their last match got a point, following a strong batting display lead by a 150-run stand for the fourth wicket between Aditya Shrivastava and Devendra Bundela. Madhya Pradesh are on 5 points being in bottom of the table. Complete Coverage: Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Baroda have done reasonably well so far in Ranji Trophy 2015-16, but have not managed to put in consistently good performances. They will be further hampered with Hardik Pandya’s absence, who will be playing for Indian Board President’s XI against the touring South Africans. Deepak Hooda has been unable to replicate his efforts of the previous season, while Yusuf Pathan is yet to get goign with the bat as well. Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh remain a potent side, though even they are missing their star wicketkeeper and batsman Naman Ojha, who will also be representing Indian Board President’s XI against the South Africans.

Baroda: Aditya Waghmode (c), Pinal Shah (wk), Yusuf Pathan, Ajitesh Argal, Deepak Hooda, Kedar Devdhar, Swapnil Singh, Monil Patel, Sagar Mangalorkar, Murtuja Vahora.

Madhya Pradesh: Devendra Bundela (c), Ishwar Pandey, Jalaj Saxena, Ankit Sharma, Udit Birla, Puneet Datey, Harpreet Singh, Mihir Hirwani, Rameez Khan, Yogesh Rawat, Aditya Shrivastava.

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 198/7 | Overs 90| Batting: Ankit Dane 30(112), Puneet Datey 4(23) : Madhya Pradesh have managed to reach 7 for 198 on Day 1 of the Group B game against Baroda. Despite fifties from Rajat Patidar and Harpreet Singh Bhatia, the team struggled overall and finished the day on a total that can be called safe. Ankit Dane is fighting with his 31 not out, but with lack of partners, he would struggle to take the team to a respectable position. With Baroda having a strong batting line-up, the score by Madhya Pradesh looks an ordinary effort. It will require a herculean task on its bowlers’ part to restrict Baroda to a total lesser than theirs.

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 188/7 | Overs 83| Batting: Ankit Dane 24(94), Puneet Datey 0(1) : Madhya Pradesh are reeling at 7 for 188, with its tailenders now at the crease. Ankit Dane has been holding the fort with his 24 not out. During this phase of play, Harpreet Singh Bhatia completed his fifty and immediately got out. He was removed by rather innocuous off-spinners of big-hitter Yusuf Pathan. Next one to go was all-rounder Ankit Sharma, who could manage just nine runs before getting out to A Sheth. With a strong batting line-up, Baroda looks well placed in this match at the moment.

OUT! Ankit Sharma ct R T Arothe b A Sheth 9(31)

OUT! Harpreet Singh Bhatia ct A T Rayudu b Yusuf Pathan 51(114)

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 149/5 | Overs 67| Batting: Harpreet Singh Bhatia 38(104), Ankit Dane 7(38): Struggling Madhya Pradesh have reached to the score of 149 for the loss of five wickets at tea. The good news for them is that Harpreet Singh Bhatia is still out there playing on 38. Ankit Dane, who’s playing on 7 not out, is giving a good company to him. The Baroda bowlers have done well in this match so far, with most of them chipping in with wickets.

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 132/5 | Overs 58| Batting: Harpreet Singh Bhatia 28(82), Ankit Dane 1(7): Quick wickets have rattled Madhya Pradesh. Slow-left-arm bowler Swapnil K Singh struck twice in his over to remove the set batsman Rajat Patidar, who was looking well set for a hundred, but eventually managed only 60. Next to go was the next man in, Rameez Khan, who didn’t trouble the scorers and lasted only three deliveries. Swapnil has brought Baroda ahead in this match.

OUT! Rameez Khan ct Kedar Devdhar b Swapnil K Singh 0(3)

OUT! Rajat Patidar lbw Swapnil K Singh 60(114)

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 109/3 | Overs 48| Batting: Rajat Patidar 53(132), Harpreet Singh Bhatia 13(53): Madhya Pradesh have resumed post-lunch session on a positive note, with both the players going on steadily. Patidar has completed his half-century while Bhatia has got set in the middle now. Patidar has been the pillar of the innings so far. He has mixed caution and aggression and played a valiant knock so far. His fifty has seen eight boundaries so far. Baroda bowlers will be looking to break this thriving partnership.

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 82/3 | Overs 34| Batting: Rajat Patidar 38(93), Harpreet Singh Bhatia 1(8): Madhya Pradesh lost its seasoned campaigner Devendra Bundela just at the stroke of lunch. The domestic stalwart was dismissed by young Baroda spinner Bhargav Bhatt, who has been impressive in last couple of seasons. Bundela was adjudged lbw after scoring 39 runs. Rajat Patidar has got a start and he’s playing on 38. His team would want him to continue in the same fashion and lay foundation for a big score. Harpreet Singh Bhatia, who’s come in place of Bundela, will have to play a supporting hand here as Madhya Pradesh needs a big partnership at the moment.

OUT! Devendra Bundela lbw Bhargav Bhatt 39(90)

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 65/2 | Overs 27| Batting: Rajat Patidar 35(78), Devendra Bundela 30(72): After helping their side recover from the early losses, both Devendra Bundela and Rajat Patidar are now going steady. Baroda have tried four bowlers till now and barring the early success, they’ve been deprived of any chances so far by this pair. Baroda captain Ambati Rayudu will look to the dashing player Yusuf Pathan for a breakthrough, who might well be introduced into the attack pretty soon.

Live cricket scores: Madhya Pradesh 41/2 | Overs 16| Batting: Rajat Patidar 24(41), Devendra Bundela 17(32): After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Madhya Pradesh didn’t have the best of the starts as they lost both their openers early. Both Aditya Shrivastava and Jalaj Saxena didn’t trouble the scorers and went without scoring. Veteran Devendra Bundela and Rajat Patidar are doing the rebuilding job.

OUT! Jalaj Saxena b A Sheth 0(8)

OUT! Aditya Srivastava ct Deepak Jagbir Hooda b R T Arothe 0(8)

Madhya Pradesh won the toss and decided to bat first.