Nayar had an ordinary season of Ranji Trophy so far    IANS
Nayar had an ordinary season of Ranji Trophy so far IANS

Mumbai announced their 15-man squad for Ranji Trophy 2017-18 quarter-final match against Karnataka on Saturday. The selectors have omitted two experienced members, Abhishek Nayar and Shardul Thakur for the match. Both Nayar and Thakur were crucial members in Mumbai’s journey to the final in the previous edition of the tournament. However, Nayar looked bleak in the ongoing season, bagging only 8 wickets from 5 matches of which 5 came against Odisha. Thakur, on the other hand, had registered a 7-wicket-haul in the match against Andhra but had had an ordinary season otherwise. Thakur has been rested due to injury.

Mumbai picked Sagar Trivedi, Shivam Malhotra and Shivam Dube for the match. Trivedi’s last appearance for Mumbai was during Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy last year, where he remained consistent with wickets. Malhotra played for Mumbai during the recent season of Vijay Hazare Trophy, with best figures of 3 for 49 against Gujarat. Dubey, too, represented Mumbai in the tournament. His best performance came against Andhra, as he scored 41 runs and picked up 3 for 21.

Squad: Aditya Tare (c), Surya Kumar Yadav (vc), Sagar Trivedi, Shivam Malhotra, Shivam Dube, Shubham Ranjane, Dhawal Kulkarni, Siddesh Lad, Jay Bista, Prithvi Shaw, Prithvi Shaw, Akhil Herwadkar, Sufiyan Shaikh, Akash Parkar, Karsh Kothari, Vijay Gohil