Sanju Samson File Photo)    Getty Image
Sanju Samson File Photo) Getty Image

The BCCI announced India A squad for a four-day game against South Africa A and for the quadrangular series. The India A squad will be led by Shreyas Iyer. The highlight of the squad is the return of Sanju Samson in the India A squad. Samson had failed the yo-yo test along with Ambati Rayudu and Mohammed Shami before India A’s England tour. However, his selection in the squad has come after the former Kerala batsmen cleared the yo-yo Test in his second attempt.


Apart from him, the other big selection in the squad is the inclusion of Yuzvendra Chahal for the four-day game against South Africa A. There have been talking that India should try the spin duo Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav for Test reflecting on their success in limited overs. While Kuldeep made his debut in 2017 Chahal is still to be considered. According to PTI a source said the reason behind Chahal’s selection is to test him.

“The current team management want wrist spinners in their squad. Kuldeep-Chahal combination has worked pretty well in the limited overs. However, Chahal has not played too many first-class matches (27 games, 70 wickets). This is an ideal opportunity to test him. Even if he is not picked for last two Tests against England, selectors might try him against West Indies at home,” a source close to the selection committee told PTI.

The All-India Senior Selection Committee met in Kolkata on Monday the 23rd of July to pick the squads.

India A squad for two four-day games against South Africa A : Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, A.R. Easwaran, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, K.S. Bharat (WK), Axar Patel (1st four-day game)/S. Nadeem (2nd four-day game), Y. Chahal, Jayant Yadav, R Gurbani, Navdeep Saini, Ankit Rajpoot, Md. Siraj

Squad for quadrangular series vs SA A & Aus A

India A : Shreyas Iyer (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, R Samarth, Suryakumar Yadav, Hanuma Vihari, Nitish Rana, Siddhesh Lad, Sanju Samson (WK), Mayank Markande, K. Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Md. Siraj, Shivam Mavi, Khaleel Ahmed

India B : Manish Pandey (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, A.R. Easwaran, Shubhman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Ricky Bhui, Vijay Shankar, Ishan Kishan (WK), Shreyas Gopal, Jayant Yadav, D.A. Jadeja, Siddarth Kaul, Prasidh Krishna, Kulwant Khejroliya, Navdeep Saini