Sarfraz Ahmed    Getty Images (file photo)
Sarfraz Ahmed Getty Images (file photo)

Issuing a warning to his side, Pakistan skipper Sarfraz Ahmed has said that their upcoming tour to Zimbabwe will not be easy by any stretch of the imagination. Pakistan will begin their tour to Zimbabwe with a T20 International tri-series, also featuring Australia, from July 1 before they are slated to play five-match ODI series against the hosts from July 13 at the Queens Sports Club. The training camp for the tour will be held at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore from June 25 to 28.

Reflecting on the same, Sarfraz, all set to lead the top-ranked side in the shortest format of the game, called on the Men in Green to avoid complacency against Zimbabwe: “Zimbabwe tour is just around the corner but it won’t be easy by any stretch of the imagination. No team is weak in T20 cricket and hopefully we will perform well in the triangular series,” he said.

Sarfraz also hinted that youngsters who have been selected in the squad would be given opportunity whenever arises throughout the series: “Young players will be inducted in the side whenever an opportunity arises.”

Australia, who are also one of the team to feature in the T20I tri-series in Zimbabwe, are currently going through a bad phase as they are still recovering from a ball-tampering scandal that sent shockwaves through the cricket world in March, but Sarfraz insisted that the Australia side would surely pose a tough challenge: “Australia are going through a bad patch but they are not a weak side. Zimbabwe will also pose a stiff challenge as they will have the advantage of home conditions.”

Pakistan squad for Zimbabwe ODIs: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Aamer, Junaid Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Yasir Shah, Hasan Ali, Haris Sohail, Babar Azam (subject to fitness).

Pakistan squad for T20I tri-series: Sarfraz Ahmed (c), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Haris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sahibzada Farhan.