Kusal Mendis was named the man of the match    AFP
Kusal Mendis was named the man of the match AFP

With impressive all-round performance, Sri Lanka registered a thumping 76-run victory against Bangladesh in the second and final T20I. In the first ever international fixture of Sylhet International Cricket Stadium, Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bowl. However, Sri Lanka amassed a gigantic total of 210 for 4 at the end of their innings. Bangladesh top-order crumbled in the chase, and the team’s innings came to an end with 135 on the board. Sri Lanka thus won the T20I series 2-0.

Kusal Mendis and Danushka Gunathilaka took the team to a powerful start with a 98-run opening stand before Soumya Sarkar got rid of Gunathilaka. Mendis completed his century and scored 70 helpful runs that pushed Sri Lanka past 150. With some more generous helping in the middle order, Sri Lanka put up 210 for 4. Debutant Abu Jayed’s maiden international wicket was the only bleak silver-lining for the hosts.

They flopped with batting, too. Shehan Madushanka opened bowling with Akila Dananjaya. Dananjaya got the visitors the first breakthrough, getting rid of Sarkar in the second over. Madushanka followed that up with two more quick wickets, reducing Bangladesh to 22 for 3 at the end of third over.

Tamim Iqbal and Mahmudullah brought respite for some time but the partnership did not last long enough to save the side from defeat. Tamim fell for 29 while Mahmudullah’s lone fight came to an end with a run out for 41.

The rest of the bowlers along with Gunathilaka cleared up the tail early to take their team to a 76-run victory with 8 balls remaining.

Kusal Mendis was named the Man of the Match as well as Man of the Series for his consistent performance.

Brief scores:

Sri Lanka 210 for 4 in 20 overs (Kusal Mendis 70, Danushka Gunathilaka 42, Thisar Perera 31; Abu Jayed 1 for 45, Mustafizur Rahman 1 for 39) won against Bangladesh 135 in 18.4 overs (Tamim Iqbal 29, Mahmudullah 41; Shehan Madushanka 2 for 23, Danushka Gunathilaka 2 for 3) by 76 runs.