Patriots are the first to reach TNPL 2017 final    Getty Images
Patriots are the first to reach TNPL 2017 final Getty Images

Albert TUTI Patriots became the first team to reach the final of Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) 2017 as they beat Chepauk Super Gillies in Qualifier 1 on Tuesday. Playing at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, the Gillies elected to bat. The Patriots put up a brilliant show with the ball, bundling Gillies for 114. The Patriots batsmen chased the small target with 7.3 overs still remaining, taking their side to victory as well as final. The Gillies will now play the winner of Eliminator in Qualifier 2 for their last chance to reach the final. TNPL 2017 Schedule & Fixture: Complete Time Table, Dates, Venue & Match Timings of Tamil Nadu Premier League

Athisayaraj Davidson was star with the ball, bagging a 4-for that left the Gillies batting dismantled. He got rid of both openers within 4 overs into the match. Aswin Crist and Washington Sundar joined the feast, and the Gillies were further reduced to 54 for 4. S Karthik was the highest scorer of the innings with his 26-ball 33, while only two other batsmen registered double-digit scores. They batted all the 20 overs, the last wicket falling off the final delivery as Patriots were set to chase 115. Sundar made the chase look like a cakewalk, as he kept on hammering the opponent bowlers fearlessly all around the park. Despite losing Kaushik Gandhi and Dinesh Karthik cheaply, his destruction did not stop. Partnering with Abhinav Mukund, he hit 73 off 36 and remained unbeaten to take his side home. Sai Kishore was the only successful bowler from the Gillies.

Brief scores:

Chepauk Super Gillies 114 in 20 overs (S Karthik 33, Antony Dhas 27; Athiyasuraj Davidson 4 for 25, Washington Sundar 2 for 5) lost to Albert TUTI Patriots 118 for 2 in 12.3 overs (Washington Sundar 73*, Abhinav Mukund 33*; Sai Kishore 1 for 19) by 7 wickets.