United Arab Emirates will play their second World Cup © Getty Images (Representational Photo)
United Arab Emirates will play their second World Cup © Getty Images (Representational Photo)

Jan 10, 2015

The Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the 15-member squad that will represent the United Arab Emirates (UAE) at the ICC World Cup 2015. The surprising decision is that 43-year-old veteran Mohammad Tauqir has been named captain ahead of Khurram Khan. Khurram was the captain of UAE until the last home series against Afghanistan. Tauqir is an Emirati and has been named skipper, as the ECB feels it needs to help promote the sport in the local population. Most of the cricket players in the UAE are expatriates.

Sport360 quoted ECB’s statement, “A solid middle-order batsman and a right-arm off-spinner, Tauqir has been an outstanding performer in the UAE’s World Cup preparations, showing positive development in both skill and fitness. The ECB sees Tauqir’s appointment as a great opportunity to promote and showcase Emirati leadership and playing skills on the international sporting stage, and at the same time aims to raise the profile of the sport within the Emirati community. The decision also intends to highlight that indigenous players are integral to the future sustainability of the sport.”

Tauqir is an experienced player and has so far represented UAE in five One-Day Internationals (ODI). He made his debut against India during the Asia Cup 2004 and scored a fifty. He will have the honour of leading UAE in its second World Cup. Their only appearance on the biggest stage was back in 1996, when they were led by Sultan Zarawani.

The team announced has Khurram, Swapnil Patil, Saqlain Haider and Krishna Karate among others. UAE are placed in the Group B alongside India, South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

UAE Squad: Mohammed Tauqir (c), Khurram Khan (vc), Andri Berenger, Krishna Karate, Saqlain Haider (wk), Shaiman Anwar, Swapnil Patil, Rohan Mustafa, Kamran Shahzad, Manjula Guruge, Fahad Al Hashmi, Amjad Ali, Muhammad Naveed, Amjad Javed, Nasir Aziz.